Hello world!

Okay, after slogging through the choosers, menus and settings, I am finally starting my blog. Why “Painting Fat” for the blog’s title, though?

Since I began studying art, and creating my own, I have noticed the different styles artists use to apply paint to their canvases. Each person approaches the easel differently. Some strike at the canvas, or paper with stong, slashes and hard edges. Some carefully render their image with thoughtful measure and precision.

The conservative painter will scrub pigment into the very weave of canvas, so that the effect is more stain than true color – artists call this “painting thin.”

The the artist who loads great, juicy blobs of lush color on the brush and applies it generously to the surface – that’s “painting fat.”

Sometimes I find it hard to boldly fill my painting. Sometimes it is the same with filling my life as I planned.

But the more I grab the pastel, the pencil, the paint or ink, the more I am likely to make a rich, lively work of art.

So, here I go, the latest work in progress … my aspiration is to write this blog creatively – and coherently -and paint fat.

About mcfar57

Hi, I'm Kathy Edwards McFarland. I'm a writer, editor, and professional artist. Hailing from Abilene, Texas, I married a great guy and transplanted to Denton, Texas - a major music center thanks to the University of North Texas and Texas Woman's University. Jazz is a major element in my life, so I developed this blog to share with readers local musicians, bands, jazz events, and trends. I have recently become a freelance copy and content editor in book publications. Hopefully, you will tolerate my wandering into books and interesting topics as well as Jazz and other music topics.

Posted on October 16, 2011, in Real Life Adventures. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a comment